Friday, 2 July 2010

The end

As you may have noticed I kinda gave up on the WCGF blog once Germany took England out for a very nice fish supper and then NEVER CALLED THEM AGAIN.

It's been fun.... see you in 4 years maybe?

Lub

WCGF

x

Friday, 25 June 2010

Kittehs do footy

With just group H left to decide it's nearly time for the second stage (round, leg, whatever you call it).

Apparantly Honduras (the country I'd never heard of before this tournament, f'real) can ACTUALLY go through as long as the beat whoever they're playing today (Switzerland?) by more than a clear 3 goals AND Chile lose, or summin. Easy! Pull your collective finger out #hon!


And if you want some more joy in your life, just watch the vid below. Footy playing cats are AWSUM!

Thursday, 24 June 2010

For Kym

I have been looking at my visitor statistics and it turns out that the main person reading this blog is my WCFAC Kym(bo). So this post is for her.

Shame on you World Cup Boyfriend, I'm trying here!! I know my facts may not always be, well, factual, and that you can get better post-match analysis from James Corden even, BUT where else can you find insights like these:

1. I missed the match yesterday as I was travelling back from Sweden, so when I watched the highlights I totally thought we were the ones playing in white. Was quite relieved when I finally figured it out. The boys look good in red.

2. I thought that the USA last-min goal against Algeria was a good thing, BUT evidently, no it's not. We basically now have to beat the most hard-arsed teams to even get a whiff of the final and then we'd probably meet Brazil. Ah well. Keep dreaming Terry whatsit from the Sun advert.

3. Fabio Capello makes NO SENSE! And he totally blanked Gabby thingface's last question. Genuine LOL!

4. My Swedish colleagues pointed out that my previous fact re: the Germans not having missed a pen since 1990 is now nopt true as there was one during a match (against Honduras, maybe?) that some poor Deutchland guy missed. So maybe, just maybe we could get past the quarters??

LUB
WCGF

Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Awsum

I hope you can see the image attached - me at the swedish sports bar with a proper footy THEATRE, staged so everyone can see the telly.

Nils and christer, swedish colleagues tried to explain the point system to me. WCBF then contradicted them on the phone so I don't know who to believe.

Anyway, argentina and syd koreia are through... Hurrah. (Didn't like seeing nigeria upset though, that was sad)

Lub

WCGF
Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

Monday, 21 June 2010

Limited resources

In Sweden for the next few days for work and, as you can imagine, there's, like, no world-cup-ness going on.

A former incarnation of me would've been quite excited about that, but now I will admit it, I'm on the verge of quite MISSING the action. (Well, if the alternative is grim headlines about the most recent embarrassing thing that BP boss has done, then give me a vuvuzela, a pint and a 2010 FIFA World Cup commemorative brochure, thanks.)

I did watch the Brazil Ivory Coat match yesterday tho. Here's what I can remember:

1. A guy on the Brazil team that I don't know the name of (he wasn't in the squad when I lived there in 2002) scored an extremely pretty goal that pinged its way up into the back of the net very satisfactorily.

2. There was some cry of 2 hand balls for the same chap's second goal - but it seemed to me that it was off his shoulder. If that's an offence then can I suggest re-branding the very misleading 'handball' complaint to something more catchy and factual like 'off-a-bit-of-the-upper-body-it-shouldnt-have-been-on-ball'.

3.The really sweet one Kaka (like david schneider I too find his name funny - tsk) got totally sent off for doing NUTHINK wrong.

The ivory coast dude ran into is elbow then fell about all over the floor clutching his FACE. Knob.

What was really good though is that kaka didn't go crazy - he just walked off the pitch committed to his fate. God, I just bloody love Brazilians - can you imagine beardy-man-beast Rooney behaving in the same dignified way. No, he'd probably head butt the ref and stomp off blaming the fans.

If there's any update to Kaka's fate, pls comment below - I'm not going to spend a million pound a min on wifi to find out.

Thx!

Lub
WCGF
Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

Friday, 18 June 2010

Elegy to my world cup interest

There was once a time (about wednesday this week) when you might've witnessed the first green shoots of my interest in England's world cup 2010 campaign.

It was a happy time, hell, by thursday I even considered placing a bet on #eng to win.

Now, after tonight's 0-0 bore-athon against my sweepstake team Algeria, the clouds are gathering and I feel my interest level slipping back towards circa 1.63.

0-0 draws make football unbearable for a soccer novice like me. In fact, when I was 15, a bloke with arsenal season tickets took a shine to me (he was 15 too, no grooming going on, honest) and invited me to all the games. After going to 3 matches I declined all his offers of tickets because there were so many damn 0-0 results which were dull on telly, let alone in the freezing cold on a november eve.

Srsly - footy fans, analyse your game... There must be something you can change to sex it up a bit?! We want goals, we want back of the net goodness, we want ACTION. Otherwise I'm back in the old gunners stadium (what was it called again?) in the cold watching bergkamp and adams and that fit danish guy get sod all. (Showing my age).

Moving on to my match commentary:

1. The algerian's green shirts were seductively clingy.

2. Someone called 'barry' was bought on who was meant to be the messiah or summin and did approx. nothin.

3. Ashley cole had nice shoes.

4. Wayne rooney looked beardy and didn't seem to do much AT ALL.

5. Steve gerrard looked really sad all the time - quite wanted to give him a bit of a hug.

[As an aside, look how many names I now know! I'm a regular pundit!]

6. Evidently the commentators said it was the 442 system that was flawed. I think they just weren't kicking the ball proper.

To sum up, my fav point of the night was made by a friend of @fletcheatsmovies:

"Can we please send the england team on some kind of team building day out. Build a raft or some shit. Anything to make them pass like they've fucking met each other before"*

*Curse words not mine, mum.

Ah well at least I saved myself a tenner at the bookies. I'd love to eat my words if we made it to the final. Sadly I believe I will be word-hungry for a while to come.

Lub
WCGF
Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

World Cup Games

Bought mini magnums for the office today - but my magnums don't come for free, Oh no, I made my colleagues WORK for icecream.

Colleague 1 had to name all 32 countries participating in the 2010 FIFA World Cup with no memory aid. He was victorious. Can you do it? Srsly there is one country in the cup that I have NEVER heard of. EVER.

Colleague 2 had to name all 23 men in the England squad. Tough eh? She had to phone a friend at 20 but then was also victorious. I named three. And was happy with that.

Colleague 3 had to state the total number of goals in the tournament so far to the nearest FIVE. It took him 10 mins and the use of pen and paper but he succeded with just ONE out.

Feel free to try these down the pub tonight!

LUB

WCGF